

Department of Land Conservation and Development

635 Capitol Street NE, Suite 150 Salem, Oregon 97301-2540

Phone: (503) 373-0050

First Floor/Coastal Fax: (503) 378-6033

Second Floor/Director's Office Fax: (503) 378-5518

Third Floor Fax: (503) 378-5318 http://www.oregon.gov/LCD

November 24, 2008

TO: Land Conservation and Development Commission

FROM: Paul Klarin, Coastal Policy Analyst

SUBJECT: Agenda Item 14, December 3–5, 2008, LCDC Meeting

OCEAN-BASED ENERGY FACILITIES RULEMAKING ADVISORY COMMITTEE

I. AGENDA ITEM SUMMARY

At its October 2008 meeting, the Commission authorized the department to form a rulemaking advisory committee to assist the department in the preparation of an amendment to the Territorial Sea Plan for wave energy facility siting. At that time, the department provided a list of stakeholder interests that would participate on the committee, but did not provide the names of the individuals who would represent those interests. The list of those individuals and their affiliations has been completed and is included below. It is anticipated that the first committee meeting will be scheduled for early February 2009.

II. RECOMMENDED ACTION

The department recommends that the Commission appoint the following individuals to the rulemaking advisory committee:

<u>Organization</u>	<u>Name</u>	<u>Title</u>
County	Terry Thompson	Lincoln Co. Commission
City	Keith Tymchuck	Reedsport Mayor
Tribal	Tom Younker	Coquille Tribe Vice-Chair
Citizen-at-large	Neal Coenen	
Ore. Dept. of Energy	Karen Chase	Renewable Resources Specialist
Ore. Dept. of Fish and Wildlife	Cristin Don	Nearshore Planning Asst. Leader
Ore. Dept. of State Lands	Jeff Kroft	Senior Policy Specialist
Ore. Parks and Rec. Dept.	Jeff Farm	Ocean Shores Program Manager
Ore. Water Resources Dept.	Mary Grainey	Hydroelectric Program Coordinator
Ore. Coastal Zone Mgmt. Assoc.	Onno Husing	Executive Director
		(Continued on next page

(Continued on next page)

(continued)

Organization	<u>Name</u>	<u>Title</u>
Ore. Wave Energy Trust	Stephanie Thornton	Executive Director
Ocean Policy Advisory Council	David Allen	Chair, TSP Workgroup
Crab Commission	Nick Furman	Executive Director
Salmon Commission	Jeff Reeves	Vice-Chairman
Recreational Fishing	John Holloway	Rec. Fishing Alliance, Oregon Anglers
Fisherman Involved in	Bob Eder	
Natural Energy		
Fishermans Advisory Cmte.	Linda Buell	Garibaldi Charters
for Tillamook		
Wave Industry	Herb Nock	OPT, Vice President
Wave Industry	Justin Klure	Pacific Energy Ventures, LLC
Coastal Conservation	Robin Hartmann	Oregon Shores, Executive Director
Ocean Environmental	Susan Allen	Our Ocean, Executive Director
Ocean Recreation	Gus Gates	Surfrider Foundation
Coastal Utility	Chris Chandler	Central Lincoln PUD
Electric Utility	Melvin Rodrigues	BPA, Transmission Planning Manager
Coastal Port	Kathy Wall	Port of Coos Bay /SOORC

Proposed Motion:

I move that the Commission appoint the above individuals to the ocean-based energy facilities rulemaking advisory committee.

Alternative Motion:

I move that the Commission appoint the above individuals to the ocean-based energy facilities rulemaking advisory committee, with the following amendments: [].